A lot of people try to protect the content of their appointments by marking them as "Private".
Unfortunately, the mail server does not actually conceal the content. Exchange merely flags the appointments as "Private" in its design. It is the clients' job to respect the marking.
Do not publish any sensitive or confidential information in Exchange appointments. Instead, communicate such information separately.
The amount of information that Exchange sends to mail clients depends solely on the rights as-signed for the calendar. By default, every user with a mailbox on the central ETH mail server has the permission to see the "Free/Busy time" information of someone else's calendar on the same server. "Free/Busy time" means that the appointments are only shown as blocks without subject or content.
If the third item is selected in the above example ("Free/Busy time, subject, location"), the server will also send information about the appointment's subject and location. If the fourth option is sel-ected ("Full Details"), the server will also send the content. The same principle applies to permis-sions given via "Delegates". The data sent by the server always corresponds to the permissions assigned for the entire calendar, regardless of whether individual appointments have been marked as "Private". The client – and not the server – determines whether private appointments are shown as "Private".
Most common clients such as Outlook (Apple/Windows), AppleMail or OWA support "Private" markings for appointments and will only show them as a placeholder in the calender as reques-ted (like "Free/Busy time", see figure above). However, this behaviour is determined by the com-pany that developed the client and cannot be controlled by the mail server